Get fed in the word….

beginning

God: delights in His creation; He made it and it was good....

John 1:1-4 (KJV) “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God.  All things were made by him; and without him was not anything made that was made. In him was life; and the life was the light of men”.

Many times you get an earful of conversation which is heatedly debated about certain things in life and one of those things which are hotly debated is the identification of Jesus or the Son of God in the beginning of time. I think as much as it has been debated, it ought to have been put to rest by now; but folks love to pick an ideology to pieces.

As for myself, I don’t read the Word to debate, but I love the food; I crave the spiritual nourishment it gives to my soul and it is a needful part of my DNA. I got to thinking and the verse for today’s reading came into my thoughts and I started reading them in sequence and of course it is a aha moment  and reminds me of some of those conversations I have often overheard.

I doubt anyone reading these verses will doubt that the Son of God reigned with the Father of heaven from time began: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God”. That pretty much sums it up for me and there is no need for me to search for the existence of the Son; although if you study the Old Testament carefully, His existence is very evident.

But what I love about John and how he puts his words together, is that he leaves no doubt in anyone’s mind that Jesus was there and He was engaged in the entire creation effort with His Father, our Father and not only that, before anything was, He was there.

He made manifest His presence right beside His Father and the Spirit of God and they did the job that they desired to and in effect here we are today to appreciate and to enjoy; free will to choose or to refuse.

Beloved you see, with God, He gave us a choice.

Trivia: He was called “the Preacher” in the Old Testament. Who is he?

 

About vw1212

All about Jesus....Love God and the things pertaining to Him. Love sitting at the feet of Jesus!
This entry was posted in Be inspired, Christian, Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Get fed in the word….

  1. Dave Malnes says:

    That’s a great picture with your blog post. It really draws in well with the title. The thought that God — the Word – was I AM before the world began. That’s what I love about the beginning of John’s gospel. Well done.

  2. y. prior says:

    this is one of my very favorite verses ever – whew – and I have a cassette tape – from December 1992 – with a local DJ saying this verse.
    It was a rainy night and my faith was coming alive that season – very big turning point for me – and as the Christian DJ smoothly said “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. The same was in the beginning with God. All things were made by him…. etc. ” well it was that soul food that pierces you = and I wish more people knew about this powerful source of edification- because it is what we were all built for!

    anyhow, I have an analogy from this week. I have been using essential oils from plants for healing. But prior to this season, I mostly just used essential oils for fun smells and misc. things – but never for healing. And now that I am using them for healing, well I see what these oils are really made of – they are dense, volatile, full of life, and potent elixirs for what ails ya! amazing…. and to think the room mist was all i really used them for – to now see their full strength….

    And I think the Word of God is like – people read it for some Jewish history – or we get the nuggets of wisdom from the Proverbs – and much practical stuff form Paul (contentment in a lot or little, grace is enough with any thorn, or to let God lead – like when he went away to Arabia – etc.) and while that is all good – and great – well that is only scratching the surface of what the Word of God is – because it is also metaphorically called a sword – that’s right – because it is potent and powerful.

    The Word of God is a life source – it is HEALING and the potent density is sometimes missed or overlooked – but it is there to nourish the soul, break strongholds, give clarity, give us ointment for all things – etc. – and this really does take experiencing it to fully feel the power of the Word – and seeing the mighty power in the name of Jesus is something that makes someone believe and see the truth.

    okay, thanks for a post with one of my favorite verses – and have a nice weekend vw. 🙂
    ~y.

  3. Don Merritt says:

    Profoundly thrilling to think on these things, kind of makes the day-today shrink to insignificance. Thanks for bringing that out!

  4. Geno says:

    Thanks for a very thought-provoking post.

    We Christians tend to be pretty good at discussing, debating and contending over this or that “doctrine”, but not too hot at receiving, embracing, being and doing.

    Biblically, “doctrine” has much more to do with what we are and what we do, than with what we (supposedly) “believe”. Check out Acts 13: 6-12 and Romans 6: 14-18 for just two examples.

    Lord, make us “doers” and not “debaters”.

  5. Little Monk says:

    Hey VW! 🙂 Great post. Made me think about one of my favorite passages, seems to harmonize.

    God, after He spoke long ago to the fathers in the prophets in many portions and in many ways, in these last days has spoken to us in His Son, whom He appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the world. And He is the radiance of His glory and the exact representation of His nature, and upholds all things by the word of His power. When He had made purification of sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high, having become as much better than the angels, as He has inherited a more excellent name than they. [Hebrews 1:1-4]

    Just sorta says it all, for me…
    Grace — LM

What's your thought on this?

